Welcome

March 2015

Welcome to my blog. A place to share stories from my travels, thoughts on traveling, tips on traveling… Basically anything traveling. I try to travel as much as I can, and would love to share my stories with you.

image

I Amsterdam. Photo by Erik paulsen

First a little bit about myself. I am a 32 year old man from Norway, working in the insurance industry. On my spare time, apart from travelling, I like to read, listen to music, play chess or just hang out with friends. Every opportunity I get though, I hop on a plane and travel around the world. Currently I try to visit at least one new country every year, but I am thinking of doubling that. There are just so many places to visit, and one new country a year just isn’t enough. There are also many places I want to visit again, as well as a few destinations I visit again and again and again and again. If only I could find a way to travel full time. My latest countries on my list are Ireland, Poland and Japan. Next on my list is Bosnia-Herzegovina.

image

Street musicians in Dublin.

image

Welcome party at my regular bar in Tokyo, Japan.

My favorite travel destination for the moment is Japan. I have been there twice, and looking forward to returning this summer. I love how everything is so different from what I’m used to, how everything is focused on society, not the individual. How they have found different solutions than the western world to several problems. I love the food, I love the people. You will definitely see future posts about Japan in this blog.

image

One day, three countries, three beers. Monaco, Italy and France.

image

At a sushi restaurant in Ueno, Tokyo.

As an avid traveler I often find myself om the road alone, something which I have come to love more and more. Traveling alone frees you from doing what other people want to do, it gives you freedom as well as makes it a lot easier to make friends from where you are visiting. The more I travel by myself, the more I have come to love it, and as a result I find myself being more and more picky about my travel partners. I would rather travel alone than with someone who doesn’t travel the way I do.

My way of traveling is very relaxed. When traveling I am on holiday, and I don’t like having to wake up at a certain time or having the whole day planned in advance. I usually try to wake up not too late, but wake up without a specific plan for the day. I love to wander around a city, not sure of what to do, just exploring and discovering. My best traveling experiences has been when stepping out of the guide book and exploring things on my own.

For my easter holiday I am going to Sarajevo. A four day trip to the city, hopefully I will also get to visit Mostar. A city steeped in history, both recent and historical. A city I remember from the news in my childhood. I have never heard a bad word about Sarajevo recently, and I am very much anticipating my trip there.

This is all for now, future posts will soon follow.

4 comments on “Welcome

  1. BrittArnhild says:

    Congratulations with your travel blog.

    Like

  2. Good luck on your travels.

    Like

  3. Thank you very much 🙂

    Like

  4. Jeyna Grace says:

    Happy travels and happy blogging!

    Like

Leave a Reply

