Going to Japan: What to read

My collection of books from or about Japan is getting bigger and bigger. Now that I am going to Japan in less than a month I figure it is time to reread some of the books. But which books to choose?

image

Some of my books about Japan.

What about travel books? Alan Booth has some good ones. The Roads to Sata, of him walking the length of Japan, north to south, or Looking for the Lost, about his walking trips through parts of Japan. It has been a long time since I read both of them.

image

Two books by Alan Booth.

As for novels, Haruki Murakami has a lot of great book, although I find his books a bit Westernised. Mishima and Tanizaki I find to write in a more Japanese style and with a more Japanese setting. I have read most of Murakami’s books, but could read them again. It has been a few years since I read some of them.

image

Some of Murakami's books. In English, Norwegian and Japanese.

I’va also been reading up on Japanese history lately. I read Hiroshima Nagasaki about the atomic bombing of Japan, Tokyo Underworld about the yakusa and criminal underworld in Japan after the second World War, as well as a Traveller’s History of Japan, a short introduction to Japanese history. Check out my book review page for reviews of the books I have read.

The Price of my collection is We Japanese, a guide book originally from 1934, printed on double layered rice paper.

image

We Japanese

image

We Japanese.

My collection of books about Japan is getting bigger and bigger, I am always looking for new books. Any books about Japan that you have read and found to your liking? Please share. I would love to hear of it.

Leave a Reply

