Japanese breakfast in Nara

I visited Nara in March, 2014.

In Nara I stayed in a small ryokan run by this very nice, old lady. I stayed there for two nights, and even though I had opted out of paying extra for breakfast included, the morning of my departure she offered me breakfast anyway. I had a train journey to Tokyo ahead of me and a good breakfast before leaving was great.

Breakfast was served at eight o’clock in the morning. I’m not much of an eater just after waking up, it takes me a few hours before my appetite starts working, and before me was a feast.

image

My breakfast.


image

White miso soup.

image

Delicious breakfast.

White miso soup, various fish, tofu, pickeled vegetables, an egg, tomatoes, fish cakes, rice. A huge Japanese breakfast. I ate as much as I could, and some more, but it hardly looked like I had touched the food. I felt really bad, hoping they did not think I had not liked it. It was delicious.

image

The nice lady running the Ryokan.

If you are in Japan, try staying in a traditional ryokan and have a real Japanese breakfast. It is quite an experience.

image

My ryokan.

2 comments on “Japanese breakfast in Nara

  1. […] next morning I got up early, was served a traditional Japanese breakfast in the hotel. Then I headed for the train station. My visit to Nara might have been somewhat ruined […]

    Like

  2. […] of the food I have eaten there haven’t been the best I’ve experienced in Japan (except Japanese breakfast at a ryokan), but the amount of incredible temples and shrines there is impressive. In a day you […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

